ACS Awards

The ACS makes two awards each year.

The Brooke-Lambert Award for the Statistician of the Year

is awarded for outstanding services to cricket statistics and historical research, usually in the past year but sometimes taking into account a lifetime’s achievement. It was inaugurated in 1986.

The 2022 winner is the late Travis Basevi, who transformed the world of cricket statistics through his pioneering work on Cricinfo, especially through the creation of Statsguru.

See here for a full list of winners.

The Les Hatton Second Eleven Player of the Year

is awarded to a leading cricketer in the English First-Class Second Eleven competitions. It is generally intended to award an up-and-coming player.

The ECB made a similar award up to 2001, but dropped it in 2002. Shortly before his death Les Hatton, who edited the Second Eleven Annual for many years, proposed that the ACS should continue this award, which is now dedicated to his memory.

The 2022 winner was Nottinghamshire wicketkeeper-batter Dane Schadendorf.

See here for a full list of winners since the ACS took over the award in 2002.

The Peter Wynne-Thomas Award

In addition to the annual awards, in 2022 the committee introduced an occasional award to a member or members of the ACS in memory of the Association’s long-serving Secretary Peter Wynne-Thomas, in recognition of his willingness to assist members and others on any cricket matter, at any time.

The inaugural winners are John Ward and Harry Watton.

The Don Ambrose Memorial Prize

was awarded between 2011 and 2013 for the best article published in The Cricket Statistician each year, in memory of assiduous researcher and ACS member Don Ambrose.

The winners were Douglas Miller and Mick Pope (sharing the inaugural award), Keith Walmsley and Keith Warsop. Details of their winning articles may be found here.